Natural Make Up Look

I had to get my photo taken over the weekend for my driver’s licence, which needs to be renewed. So did I get up on Saturday, quick shower and get dressed and head in to town? Are ya mad, did I hell, I won’t be making that mistake again! For the last 10 years I have been living with the worst photo on my licence (yea I know, first world problems). 10 years ago I headed off to get my photo taken the day after the night before. That photo is a perfect example of why you should never wear the wrong colour foundation. Also it was raining and my hair is what my mother would refer to as a birds nest on your head.

This time I put a bit more effort in to getting photo ready. I want just one I.D. that I’m not mortified to show. Plus in another 10 years I will definitely be looking back at that photo lamenting about how young I looked, so it might as well be a good one. For an I.D, it’s important to look natural so I wanted to create a look that looks like you’re not really wearing make up. Thus the work began. First I started with my usual daytime  make up routine, with one exception, I primed my face with MAC Prep & Prime, to add a little more photogenic luminosity.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then with the basic base finished it was on to emphasize the eyes. I started with contouring by dipping the tip my brush into the lighter shade in the MAC Mineralise eye shadow Twilight Falls and blended it into the crease. Then I dipped the brush into the darker shade and applied it to the corner and blended. I used MAC All that Glitters on the lid, it’s a beautiful rose gold eye shadow that looks very natural.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Twilight Falls

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All That Glitters

I used Rimmel Scandaleyes eyeliner in Taupe to lightly line the eyes. I used light pressure here as I’m trying to gently emphasize and lightly define. I just did one quick sweep of mascara, I used Lancome Hypnose. I just wanted to darken the lashes for a polished look.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used a bit of highlighter under the brow bone and on top of the cheek bone in a C shape. Once again easy with the highlighter, it’s not a disco I’m off to.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To finish, I lined my lips with my MAC Subculture lip liner and slapped on some Peach Blossom MAC lipstick, and that’s it. All that to look “natural”!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And the actual photo itself:

lastscan

I’m well happy with that!

Leave a Reply

