Neal’s Yard Frankincense Nourishing Cream: Review and Pictures

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I first stumbled upon this cream during the big freeze of Christmas 2009/2010. The word nourishing is what caught my attention back then and nourishing it is. During this recent cold spell there has been a bitter wind that has left my face feeling sore and dry; almost chapped. This has not been helped by my stubborn insistence on getting out and going for a hike on dry Saturdays regardless of the brisk breeze. I really need an indoor hobby. With my poor face in tatters I somehow remembered the Frankincense Nourishing Cream. Amazing, considering I have the memory of a goldfish. I purchased it for €27.25 in a local chemist, which is part of the beauty of it. Sometimes it’s just not convenient to have to take a trip to one of the bigger department stores to shell out a wad of cash for skincare and when you want somthing NOW, waiting for the postman is torture. The price is all the more reasonable when you consider how long a pot is likely to last as you only need a small amount.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Neal’ Yard is one of the world’s pioneering aromatherapy beauty companies. The Frankincense Nourishing Cream is an essential oil based rich cream containing the nourishing essential oils of frankincense and myrrh along with wheatgerm, jojoba, almond, and apricot kernel, which are all renowned for their moisturising and regenerating properties(and sound super fancy). The consistency is thick so a little goes a long way, but it is so soothing on the skin. There is an instant feeling of ahhh. My dehydration lines are a distant memory. Fear not about the thickness of this because I have combo to oily skin and usually heavy or thick products would cause my face to break out with little red bumpy spots, but that doesn’t happen with this moisturiser and I don’t look like an oil slick by lunch. I leave it a bit longer to sink in before I apply my makeup and I think it is a great base for foundation; it’s like s smooth veil over your skin. Ok so the scent is a bit like one of those new age shops that sell healing crystals, but I don’t mind the scent and it doesn’t last long anyway, so it’s not a problem for me, but may put some off.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My skin has gone from being haggard tight and dry to soft and radiant. I’m only sorry I didn’t remember it sooner as it could have been my moisturiser for the whole winter. That being said I will continue to use it as the weather gets milder and I’ll only switch if I find that it’s too heavy when it actually gets warm out.

Leave a Reply

