ALL TIME FAVOURITE PRIMER: MAC PREP AND PRIME

MAC Prep and Prime MAC Prep and Prime

I thought I would hit you up with another all time favourite; this time it’s my primer. There are loads of primers on the market, and new ones are being released and reviewed every day. I’m sure most of you have tried a few and would be all too happy to tell me that there are very good ones out there for far less than the cost of MAC. I’ve tried a few myself, and to be honest there are a few taking up space in my stash but for some reason I always completely finish and repurchase the MAC one over and over. The cost isn’t a big deal as a primer lasts me ages because I don’t use it every day; I only use it when I know I’ll need extra staying power. For instance, weddings, nights out, warm or humid weather, or if I know I’ll be going from day to night without the chance to reapply or touch up my makeup.

MAC Prep and Prime

So what’s so special about MAC Prep and Prime? Well, on their website MAC say it’s an “ultra-fluid lotion formulated with special-effect silicones. Calms and soothes the skin, blots away excess oil, and evens out skin redness. Improves the laydown and application of foundation or powder”. Yea, I agree with all that (hey they said it best, no point in me rambling on). I find that it absorbs quickly as it’s a light fluid and you only need one pump to cover the whole face. Because the fluid has a subtle shimmer through it, after I apply it to my face, I usually rub what’s left on my hands on my collar bone to give it a little highlight.

MAC Prep and Prime does what I expect it to do; it keeps shine at bay and makes my makeup last and last. As you may know, Irish weddings usually start at about 1:00p.m. and can continue for as long as you can stay awake. I’ve often gotten home after 3:00a.m. and thought it was a shame to wash my makeup off because it looked as good, if not better, going to bed as it did when first applied earlier in the day. This is why I love Prep and Prime; let’s face it, you’re lucky to get a lippy into some of those clutch bags, never mind hoarding around enough makeup to touch up my whole face. Precious space needs to be saved for blister plasters and party feet because the shoes will inevitably be as ridiculous as the clutch.

What’s your favourite primer?

4 thoughts on “ALL TIME FAVOURITE PRIMER: MAC PREP AND PRIME

Leave a Reply

