WEDDING GUEST STYLE INSPIRATION: FIRST UP THE BLUE DRESS

I was talking to a friend of mine, a girl who is very social and outgoing, always participating in something and is a part of a few sports teams. The result of all this participation and socializing is instead of having one small-knit group of close friends like most of us, she is part of quite a few small-knit groups of friends and is quite close with lots of girls. This is great for her most of the time, except now that she is turning 30, as are most of her many friends, she is in the thick of wedding invites. In fact she is invited to 10 weddings and 10 hen parties this year. So I thought I would do a few posts on wedding guest style to give people a few ideas of how to mix and match dresses and accessories. Hopefully you will get a few ideas on putting colours together and how certain shapes and styles can work for you. These posts may also give you some inspiration for other occasions other than weddings and maybe show you how to rework a dress that you wore to a wedding so that you can wear it again to something else. The point is to get value out of both the accessories and the dresses.

I’ll be honest, I’m not a “that’ll do” kinda girl when it comes to getting glammed up. I love getting all glammed up for a special occasion and everything has to be just so. I know for some of you it’s your idea of a nightmare but I really love every bit of it from shopping for all the coordinating bits and pieces, getting tan and hair done, doing my nails and makeup. I just love being done up to the nines as they say. So you don’t have to go all out like me but hopefully these posts will give you some inspiration for what’ll work for you.

??????????????????????

This blue dress is by Calvin Klein and I bought it on eBay. I spotted it on an American department store web site that does ship to Ireland but they won’t ship Calvin Klein internationally, so I stalked eBay until I found it and for a lot cheaper too. This is probably the most comfortable occasion wear dress that I have ever owned. It fits me perfectly, the material is thick enough to not require special seamless underwear and the ruffle is perfectly placed across the tummy to disguise any after dinner bloating. I loves it, I loves it a lot. You can easily find a similar dress to this, there are loads of peplum dresses out there in this blue colour and you can find them as cheap or as expensive as you like.

And now to accessorise it. First up, my favourite colour with this blue is orange.

??????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

The shoes are Kurt Geiger, the wrap, fascinator and bag are from a shop in Galway called Glitzi Bitz.
Some orange jewelry can look cheap and tacky so I went with amber because it looks a bit classier.

??????????????????????

The necklace is from Gerards (a shop I am always trying to get my mom to shop in but their accessories are quite good), the earrings and ring are from eBay.

Second, we have the berry pink. Bright fuchsia pink would be an obvious choice but everyone does that, so to be different I went with a richer berry toned pink.

?????????????????????? ??????????????????????

The wrap and bag are Star by Julien McDonald at Debenhams.  The shoes are Menbur and I must declare that I love Menbur shoes. They are the only brand of court shoes that stay on my heel and are comfortable, no need for insoles, party feet, heel shields, sore spots . . . absolutely no modification required.

??????????????????????

The necklace and earrings are from Boots that’s right, the pharmacy (how many times have you walked past those stands; filled with little gems, so they are).

Other colours that would look great with blue are bright aqua and lime green and I am eyeing a pair of lime shoes and matching clutch at the moment, fingers crossed they are on sale soon.  Have you any other colour suggestions for accessorising a blue dress?

2 thoughts on “WEDDING GUEST STYLE INSPIRATION: FIRST UP THE BLUE DRESS

  1. Such a great idea, that dress is beautiful on you and I love the way all the little changes can make it look completely different. White or Yellow would look fantastic with it too!

Leave a Reply

