NIVEA IN-SHOWER MOITURISER: REVIEW

This in shower moisturiser has been out for a few months now and I’ve seen it on a few blogs, but if I’m being honest I thought it was a bit gimmicky. At first I had no intention of buying it but then saw it in Tesco and well curiosity got the better of me. It retails at about €6 for 400mls but I’ve seen it on offer in a few places.

Nivea In-Shower Moisturiser

Normally I don’t have any particular concerns with the skin on my body; I don’t suffer from dry skin, eczema, or sensitivity etc. So I wouldn’t usually use a body moisturiser on a regular basis. I really couldn’t be bothered with the ritual of slapping it on after every shower and waiting for it to dry into my skin before I can get dressed, especially when I don’t need to. I usually save body lotions and the like for when I feel like a bit of a pamper session.

Lately I’ve been doing a lot more extended training outdoors. I’m training for an adventure race in November. I’m not looking for a pat on the back, I’m just pointing out that my longer cycles, hikes and runs have me exposed to the elements more than normal and so I have some new skin care concerns. I’m spending extended periods of time being exposed to sun, wind and rain and I figured I would need to start using moisturiser more often.

Nivea In-Shower Moisturiser

The idea behind this is that after your usual body wash, you apply this all over, leave it a minute and then rinse it off. It’s kind of like a hair conditioner but for your body. After your shower, there is no waiting around, you can get dressed and go. Which is kind of why I picked it up, it appeals to the part of me that doesn’t want to be waiting around for a heavy moisturiser to dry into my skin.

Is it any good? While my skin does feel softer and more hydrated than if I had used nothing, but it’s nowhere near as moisturised as it would be if I actually used a normal moisturiser. It’s quick and handy and it’s serving my current needs and there is a gentle mineral spa-like scent, which I really like. I not sure it would work well enough for someone with particular skin concerns. There is a dry skin version but I went with the regular one since it is still kinda summer. I figured the dry skin version might be too heavy but it may be a better option when winter sets in.

Have you tried it yet or are you planning on picking it up?

6 thoughts on “NIVEA IN-SHOWER MOITURISER: REVIEW

  1. I’ve been dithering too, I think it’s just a bit of a gimmick and because I get awful dry skin on my arms & legs, I don’t think this would be any good for me – better than using nothing I suppose but definitely not a replacement for my body butters!

Leave a Reply

