A FEW TIPS FOR WINTER BRIDES

SavedPicture-20131217205744.jpg

I got married on the 19th December 2009 and with my upcoming 4th Anniversary I’m feeling very nostalgic. I loved all of the planning and organising for the big day. I know many find it stressful but not me. I loved getting creative and searching for the perfect coordinating bits and pieces. Christmas and New Years are popular times for getting married and equally popular for getting engaged. With this in mind I thought I would share a few tips, mostly about things I forgot. No matter how much you plan, there will be something that gets forgotten. The most important thing is to remember to relax because your guests won’t notice the little things that go wrong. They are focusing on you and weather you are enjoying yourself. So here are my tips to avoid the little disasters:

SavedPicture-2013121722313.jpg SavedPicture-20131217223051.jpg

DSC_0093 DSC_0025

Make sure you make an appointment to get your nails and eyebrows done. Seems obvious but with all the other hair, makeup, tan etc. appointments, I forgot the eyebrows and nails. I had to do my nails the night before and pluck my eyebrows on the morning.

DSC_0001 DSC_0156

It’s impossible to sleep the night before; even if you are not nervous you will be excited. You need two very important products on hand in the morning. One, something you trust to reduce under eye puffiness and baggage, like the Garnier Roll On. I’ve never had a problem with under eye bags until that morning. The second is eye drops to reduce red eye. My eyes were cherry red; luckily my sister had time to pop to the chemist to get me some drops.

DSC_0259
Nervous or giddy with excitement, Rescue Remedy is another must have. It really helps settle you.

DSC_0013
Now on to the dress, my dress had loads of satin covered buttons up the back, but it had a concealed zip so I never realised until I collected it from the dress shop that there were tiny little satin loops to cover each and every button. The sales assistant in the dress shop told my sister that she needed a crochet needle to do the loops but my sister hears what she wants to hear and heard that the sales assistant was putting a crochet needle in the bag. Needless to say we had no crochet needle on the morning but luckily my sister and my niece, who was my bridesmaid, were able to do the loops with their nails. On the wedding night my poor new husband had to use a fork to undo the loops. Thank God the table in our suite was already set for breakfast.

DSC_0282

If you are getting married in winter, I would say that you do need some sort of wrap or shrug. People might tell you that you won’t feel the cold with all the excitement but you will be standing around outside for pictures for ages.

DSC_0374
Most importantly, relax and enjoy it! The day goes so fast. Any other tips that you want to share?

2 thoughts on “A FEW TIPS FOR WINTER BRIDES

Leave a Reply

