SMASHBOX FULL EXPOSURE MASCARA: REVIEW AND PICTURES

Smashbox Full Exposure Palette

My brother finally sent me a birthday present from where he lives in America, a full two months late, but I’ll forgive him because he sent me the Smashbox Full Exposure Palette, which I have wanted for what feels like ages now. The palette comes with a sample size of the Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara, so I am going to review the mascara first because there have been loads of reviews of the palette lately and you can get a full size of the mascara in Boots for €21. Don’t worry I will be showing you the palette loads and trying out lots of different looks with it.

Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara
I actually prefer sample sizes of mascara’s, I think it’s because with the shorter wand my hand is closer to the action and therefore I find it easier to manoeuvre without making a mess, as my clumsy hands are prone to doing (I like to think of it like being an athlete with a low centre of gravity). The brush on this is quite thick so it coats the lashes really well but a thicker brush can make it easier to get some mascara on your lids and it can be tricky getting into the shorter lashes in the inner corners especially on the left eye, since I am right handed. It’s often a good idea to line your eyes after mascara so you can cover up any transfer on your lids with the liner. The formula is not too wet, which is often a problem with a new mascara. It doesn’t clump, which I really like, but it doesn’t give much volume. It does however give really good length. My natural lashes are long but they are also blond tipped so you can’t see the length. For this reason most black mascaras will make my lashes look long so I prefer a mascara to really up the volume.

Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara
My routine for applying is mascara is as follows:
First I brush through all the lashes pushing up from the roots in an effort to use the mascara to curl the lashes. I can’t seem to find an eyelash curler to fit into my eye socket. So far they have all been that tiny bit too big.
Then I do the usual wiggle, where I wiggle the brush through my lashes to coat all the sides of each lash.
Finally I brush straight through to separate any clumps. This is when I decide if I like a mascara or not; it my lashes clump during this brush through, then I don’t like it but if they separate and feather out without any clumps then I am happy. Smashbox Full Exposure mascara separates and feathers out perfectly.
Here are the before and after pictures:

f1934a6e-b348-494f-b747-5e5cb98f4dce_jpeg

f1934a6e-b348-494f-b747-5e5cb98f4dce_jpeg(2)
All in all, it’s a good mascara, especially for those of you want length but I prefer volume so I won’t purchase the full size when I runs out but I will continue to use the trial size that I have. Have you tired this mascara? How did you find it?

6 thoughts on “SMASHBOX FULL EXPOSURE MASCARA: REVIEW AND PICTURES

  1. I promptly lost the mascara and brush that came with this palette (I’m still grieving!) but can’t wait to hear how you get on with the shadows! I blogged about the palette and featured it in a few videos, it was a slow burner but I’m now in love!!

    • I am fully up to date on your posts but I have a few videos to watch yet. Having lots of fun playing with it so far. Still haven’t decided if I prefer doing subtle or more dramatic looks with it.

Leave a Reply

