ESSENCE GEL NAILS AT HOME: REVIEW AND PICTURES

Essence Gel Nails at Home Kit

Well its good and bad news with this Essence Gel Nails at Home Kit. I saw the press release for this ages ago and have been stalking the Essence stand in my local Penneys every week since. The bad news is that it is not a replacement for getting gel nails done in a salon for a special occasion. The good news is that you can use any nail polish with it and that polish then lasts a lot longer than if you just used it as normal.

It is quick and easy enough to use and you just follow these steps:

Use the cleanser to clean nails
Apply the Primer, which dries quickly
Apply the Peel Off Base and cure each nail under the lamp for 10 seconds
Use Cleanser again to remove any stickiness
Apply your choice of colour polish and wait for it to completely dry
Apply the Clear Gel Top Coat and cure under lamp for 10 seconds
Finally use the Cleanser again to remove any stickiness

Essence Gel Nails at Home Starter Kit

Some tips I learned:
If you normally make a mess painting your nails this will not suddenly make you magically paint them perfectly.
Make sure you have lint free cotton pads!
Instead of applying the Peel Off Base / Gel Top Coat to all nails and then curing all the nails, I suggest curing each nail directly after applying the product to that nail, especially the thumbs. The base and top coat are thick and runny so if you turn your hand to side to do the rest of your nails the products slides to the side of the nail thanks to gravity.
I prefer to cure each nail twice to be sure, to be sure, but it’s probably not necessary.

Essence Gel Nails at Home Lamp

I know lots of ladies like to change their nail polish very regularly and so don’t mind the paint, remove and paint again process. I like when my nails are painted but I don’t like painting them and waiting for the polish to dry and harden. I also don’t like removing the polish and usually leave it as long as possible and end up peeling the polish off and ruining my nails in the process. So this kit is a winner for me because I should get a week or more out of each paint job and then I can just peel it off without any damage to the nail.

1156802e-ec3f-4e47-9ff4-46913d597583_jpeg

So far it’s lasting well, it’s been 5 days and still no chips. I do think it wouldn’t take much to lift it at the sides of some nails but that may be down to my messy application and not so much a fault of the product. It’s also not as shiny as a salon gel manicure but DIY home kits are never going to be as good as getting it done by a professional.

Essence Gel Nails at Home Lamp

All in all, I think it’s a handy little kit that is worth the money; the lamp is €24.99 and the starter kit (with Cleanser, Primer, Peel Off Base and Clear Gel Top Coat) is €12.99. I especially like it for the Peel Off Base. Have you tried this or any other of the home DIY gel nail kits?

12 thoughts on “ESSENCE GEL NAILS AT HOME: REVIEW AND PICTURES

  1. I paint my nails every week with normal polish and a good top coat and usually get about 6 days wear. I’ve just purchased the essence gel set and I enjoy the whole application process but I’m finding that my nails on the sides are dull after the top coat. I’ve used the cleanser and it’s not sticky it’s almost like a matt texture. Not sure what I’m doing wrong!

    • Try going lighter with the base coat, its quite gloopy. I found its better to cure each nail after I paint it instead of painting them all and then curing them under the lamp. Also try different cotton pads, some don’t get all the residue off.

  2. God, am I cheap for being shocked at the price? I know other ones are miles more spendy, but jeepers!

    I’m in the opposite camp anyway – I just paint my nails for the craic. Mad, Ted.

    • Yea it adds up but once you buy the starter kit and lamp you will gets lots of uses out of it, and you can repurchase the bits from the starter kit individually as you need them.

Leave a Reply

