GARNIER MICELLAR CLEANSING WATER: REVIEW

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water

Garnier is a brand that I was never really big on; their products just didn’t seem to do it for me. However, over the last few years or so I am slowly being converted as they have released a few gems that I enjoy using. I suppose the first of their products that I liked was the BB cream for combo oily skin and on Monday I told you about the Ultimate Blends Shampoo and Conditioner. Today I am reviewing the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water. I was a bit slow to jump on the “we love Micellar waters” bandwagon. I expected them to magically and quickly remove all traces of makeup with just one quick swipe over the face. The reality is that just didn’t happen with the Micellar cleansers that I have tried so far. In fact they only work as a step in the “double cleanse” which is just a complete no, no for me. If there are loads of cleansers out there that will cleanse my face in one step, why would I want to do it in two?

Micellar water has however found its way into my regular skin care routine for mornings. To remove any traces of residue left from the products I apply at night time, I use a Micellar water in the morning for a quick cleanse before I slap on, well, more slap. In this sense I find them really handy, quick and easy, no thought required, especially in winter when it’s important to get the water temperature just right; I definitely could not be doing with the rude awakening of washing my face with baltic cold water, nor do I want to scald myself. So using a cleanser that doesn’t require water makes my morning a little bit easier.

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water is actually better at removing makeup than the other Micellar waters that I have tried (L’Oreal & Vichy) and it can even remove eye makeup, but I still prefer to use La Roche Posay Physiological cleanser to remove makeup in the evenings. I keep the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water for my morning cleanse. It is very gently so it leaves my skin soft. Most importantly it doesn’t irritate my eyes. I don’t think my eyes are particularly sensitive but some supposedly gentle products can really make them sting and water. I also find myself reaching for this correct eye makeup mistakes, because you can immediately reapply makeup over it, which is something you can’t do with oil based eye makeup removers. I have a tendency to hit my eyeliner or mascara off the side of my nose just as I think I am finished and my makeup is perfect.

All in all this is a good cleanser, it is the best of the Micellar waters that I have tried. It also comes in a massive 400ml bottle for just €6.30, but it does be on offer regularly so you can get even better value if you keep an eye out. I will definitely repurchase this when this bottle does eventually run out.

Have you tried any Micellar waters? Which is your favorite?

6 thoughts on “GARNIER MICELLAR CLEANSING WATER: REVIEW

Leave a Reply

