ESTE LAUDER DOUBLE WEAR LIGHT: REVIEW AND PICTURES

Este Lauder Double Wear Light

You probably already know that I have been a devotee to Lancôme Teint Idole Ultra 24 Hour foundation for a very long time now. Before Teint Idole Ultra I wore MAC Studio Fix for years. I like long-wearing, medium to full coverage foundation that stays put on my oily to combo skin. When I really like something, especially something as important as foundation, I tend to stick with it. I have wanted to try a new foundation for a long time and I have been doing some research. The reason I wanted a change is because of what I call “flash face”, which is when a photo is taken of me with a flash and my face comes out a different colour. When a flash is used when I am wearing Lancôme Teint Idole Ultra, my face looks either yellow or green in the photo. Lots of bloggers always list Este Lauder Double Wear Light as one of their favourite foundations so I finally decided to pick it up while in duty free.

20cada15-3a8f-45ee-ab3c-f00b7105b90c_jpeg

(Top two before, bottom two with just Double Wear Light)

a66178ed-c218-4a7b-bdbb-292302dac6b9_jpeg(1)

(Finished with MAC Mineralise Skinfinish, blush, eyebrows filled in, eyes done and Curvy Candy Chubby Stick on lips)

Este Lauder Double Wear Light is lovely; it ticks all the boxes for me. Its long wearing, I can put this on in the morning with bit of MAC Mineralise Skinfinish Natural as a setting powder and it lasts all day and night without any touch-ups. It looks natural with a semi-matte finish. It feels light on the skin, but I wear foundation everyday so it’s rare that I feel a foundation is heavy. The coverage is medium, it looks like skin and you can see some of my darker freckles through it so it’s not a mask but it covers redness and blotches. I still need a bit of concealer under my eyes. The formula is a bit on the thick side but a little goes a long way, however you do need to blend fast. I am using shade 2 at the moment and its fine thanks to summer and a sun holiday but it will be too dark for me as winter progresses. The only thing I don’t like is “flash face” is still a problem; my face appears paler and greyish in photos when a flash has been used. I really do like Double Wear Light but my search for a foundation that is everything I like about Double Wear Light and Teint Idole Ultra but doesn’t do “flash face”.

WP_20141004_009

(photo taken with flash = “flash face”)

I am thinking of trying either Este Lauder Perfectionist or MAC Pro Long Wear next. If you have tried either please let me know if there is any “flash face” or feel free to suggest any foundations you love.

4 thoughts on “ESTE LAUDER DOUBLE WEAR LIGHT: REVIEW AND PICTURES

Leave a Reply

