EMPTIES: THE QUESTION OF REPURCHASING

I have never done an empties post before, if its empty it goes in the bin. I don’t usually see the point in showing you a bunch of empty packages. However, I noticed that I have quite a few products right now that are either empty or really close to it. Since there are quite a few things on the last dregs at the same time, the question of whether or not to repurchase needs serious consideration. When you start using a products at first it’s all new and exciting and you wonder how you ever lived without this product and you will totally repurchase it over and over, however as time wears on and new similar products are released it ends up moving down deeper into the stash and by the time you actually finish it you could end up being a bit meh about it, maybe preferring to try new replacements. Then again some new products become firm favourites and you use them every day and end up repurchasing them over and over. So on to my empties:

WP_20141104_001
First up is the Bobbi Brown Colour Corrector in Light Bisque. I have had this for ages despite the fact that I use it nearly every day. The thing is I don’t see any difference when I apply it over my dark lines under my eyes. Used under concealer those dark lines don’t show up in pictures and do appear concealed but I think the concealer alone gives much the same result. It is a lovely creamy formula that feels nice on the delicate under eye skin though. If I was to repurchase this I would try a different shade and get the sales assistant to apply it on me before I buy to make sure, but I’m in no rush, the Max Factor Colour Corrector pencil will be its replacement for now.

WP_20141104_009
Next are two concealers; Nars Radiant Creamy concealer and Collection Lasting Perfection. I have been switching back and forth between them in an effort to make the Nars one last longer but what has ended up happening is that I am failing to see how the Nars at €27 is any better than the Collection one, which is a fiver. I have already repurchased a replacement Collection Lasting Perfection and the package seems to have been sexed up a bit so I hope the formula inside is the same. As for the Nars, maybe when I feel the need for a luxury purchase but for now I am happy with the Collection one. Before the Nars is completely gone I will do a post comparing the two and take pictures of before, after and at the end of the day to see if maybe it is worth €22 more.

WP_20141104_002
Now on to two Foundations: MAC Mineralise Satinfinish and Lancôme Teint Idole Ultra 24 Hour. The MAC looks great when just applied but gets shiny on my oily skin as the day goes on so I won’t be picking this up again. I love the Lancôme but I have been using it for ages now and feel like a change but just don’t know what to try next.

WP_20141104_005
MAC Mineralise Skinfinish Natural Powder, I have already repurchased this. It’s one of the items that I buy over and over again, I wouldn’t be without it. I still want the Make Up Forever Super Matte Loose Powder but I will always have a MAC Mineralise Skinfinish on hand.

WP_20141104_004
MAC Paint Pot in Painterly, which I use as an eyelid primer. I will pick up another one of these as it’s the best primer for my oily lids but I’m in no rush because I have been using the Kiko Long Lasting Stick Eyeshadows as primers and they are working really well. As for the MAC Omega Eyeshadow, that is what I use to fill in my brows. It’s the perfect ash shade for me so I will be picking up a new one stat.

What products are on your repurchase list? What doesn’t make the cut?

4 thoughts on “EMPTIES: THE QUESTION OF REPURCHASING

    • I know, I keep counting the MAC empties in case one more just happens to magically appear.

      I have oily skin so that’s probably why I don’t find the Collection concealer drying. I will have to take some comparison photos after wearing them both all day to see if there is a notable difference.

Leave a Reply

