LAURA MERCIER SMOOTH-FINISH FLAWLESS FLUID FOUNDATION: REVIEW AND PICTURES

Laura Mercier Smooth-Finish Flawless Fluid

I have been on the look-out for a new foundation for a while now. As much as I love Lancôme Teint Idole Ultra 24 Hour foundation, I have been wearing it for ages and felt it was time for a change. After a bit of research I spotted this on the Brown Thomas website and decided to give it a go. After checking it out on the Laura Mercier website and looking at some swatches online, I settled on the shade Vanillé, which turned out to be perfect for me. In fact I would say it’s the best that a foundation has ever matched my skin tone. It blends seamlessly into my skin so I don’t have to worry about blending it out and down my neck.

Laura Mercier Smooth-Finish Flawless Fluid
Laura Mercier Smooth-Finish Flawless Fluid is an oil free long wearing foundation that promises to magically blur imperfections for a smooth, seamless complexion. I would say that it does what it says on the box. The coverage is medium and buildable. The result is a natural matte finish that is not powdery or chalky. It feels light on the skin, I don’t notice that there is anything there but bear in mind if you are an occasional makeup wearer, I wear foundation every day. It is really long lasting, if I set it with a finishing powder it lasts all day without any shine or need for touch-ups. After wearing it all day and straight through on a night out without any touch-ups I would say it doesn’t last quite as well as the Lancôme. It started to break up on the chin and around the nose a bit, but not too noticeable. I suppose that is the trade off for a smoother more natural finish.

Laura Mercier Smooth-Finish Flawless Fluid Vanillé
The only problem with this foundation is that it is quite runny. It’s a bi-phase formula that needs to be shaken for ten seconds before dispensing. Because of the runny formula, it can’t be stored upright or it leaks into the cap. I knew this from the reviews on the Laura Mercier website but I bought it anyway because even though people were complaining about this they all still said that they loved the foundation.

db0c11b6-ab03-446a-ab1d-827607e709c4
I decided to do a second set of before and after pictures, because it’s getting hard to get good natural lighting these days. In the after pictures I have applied what I think is the equivalent of a normal pump of most foundations.

db0c11b6-ab03-446a-ab1d-827607e709c4(1)
Both of the after pictures are the same just slightly different lighting.

WP_20141125_025
In this picture I have set the Laura Mercier Smooth-Finish Flawless Fluid with MAC Mineralise Skinfinish Natural, applied MAC Peachykeen blush and filled in my eyebrows with MAC Omega.
This is the first Laura Mercier products that I have tried and now I want to try more. It is pricey at €48 but I really like it and I think it’s worth the price tag. Have you tried this or any other Laura Mercier products?

2 thoughts on “LAURA MERCIER SMOOTH-FINISH FLAWLESS FLUID FOUNDATION: REVIEW AND PICTURES

Leave a Reply

