FRIDAY STYLE: CHRISTMAS PARTY INSPIRATION

083e91b9-710d-4589-9574-fb3e0752ed75

I think most of us are guilty of the same thing, playing it safe and wearing a little black dress to the Christmas party. In fairness some of us find an LBD with a bit of sparkle but essentially it’s still a black dress. Look, the black dress is a handy, fail safe option and every woman should have one that they feel comfortable in, in their wardrobe. However, I find black can be a bit harsh for my colouring so I very rarely wear black from head to toe. Hopefully today I can give you a bit of inspiration for mixing it up a bit this year. I usually try to have a bit of colour on the top, especially around the neckline and close to my face. The easiest option is a skirt and top combo. Then you can wear the top over and over with different skirts or trousers and wear the skirt with different tops. Separates give you loads more options so you get more wear out of them. How many dresses have you in your wardrobe that you won’t wear again because you think everyone will recognise that you have worn it a few times before.

Villa Water Colour Print Sparkle Shoulder Top Villa Water Colour Print Sparkle Shoulder Top

I picked this Villa top up in Carraig Donn recently. I love the sparkle detail at the shoulders and down the sides. The print is a soft and pretty pale pink, black and grey water colour style. This is perfect to add a bit of colour on top and you can still wear good old slimming black on your bottom half. Spoiler Alert! I also plan on wearing this top with my burgundy faux leather pencil skirt from River Island.

Awear Black Lace Skirt

I know it’s all about the pencil skirt at the moment but I think the Christmas season requires lace for a night out. Nothing says Christmas like sparkles and lace so I’ve found a way to combine them both. I did a little sigh when I pulled this skirt out and realised it’s from Awear, oh how I miss Awear. There are similar skirts available in lots of other high street retailers, I’m pretty sure I saw something much the same on iclothing.com.

Statement Necklace

The necklace fills the gap where cleavage should be nicely. I picked this one up on holiday in Portugal but statement necklaces of every shape, size and colour are everywhere.

Menbur Black Shoes

These shoes are from Menbur. They have a bit of sequins and sparkle but I think I need a pair of glitter shoes. You know the ones that look like they have been dunked into a bucket of glitter.

What do you plan on wearing to the Christmas party, an LBD or will you be going for a bit of colour?

Leave a Reply

