Life Style Sports Opening of Newly Refurbished Store

I know I haven’t been blogging much lately but last week I was invited along to the reopening of Life Style Sport’s refurbished store on the Headford Road in Galway and I enjoyed it so much that I thought I would do a post to tell you a bit about it. (I do some bite size posts on Twitter and Instagram if you want to see what I’m up to in between proper blog posts.)


Now I know that I have more active wear than I know what to do with and I am slowly but surely amassing a trainer collection to rival King Nidge, but I won’t let that stop me. Not that the signs are on me but I do go to the gym four evenings a week and in the summer, when it’s all bright and sunny (and only when it’s bright and sunny) I like to get out on a Saturday morning for a hike or a cycle. I have been known to take part in the occasional adventure race or 10k fun run. The thing is though, it doesn’t take much to stop me. Some days when I am running, I feel good, my mind wanders and the run is over before I realise it, but that’s not always the case; on those days I feel heavy and tight, everything seems to be aching, I keep telling myself that this or that is hurting and I can’t breathe and I want to slow down to a walk. As I said, it doesn’t take much to stop me so it’s important that my clothing is comfortable. I don’t want to be aware of my top twisting and turning, my bottoms falling down, or tags, seams or zips digging into my skin. So I buy a lot of active wear because I want to be comfortable but I also want it to look good as well. Huffy, puffy, red and sweaty is not a good look so I like to think cute active wear in bright colours and fun prints distracts from how bad I look as people only really see the clothes instead of my grossness. Hence my excitement at being invited to the reopening where I could shop alongside some of the stars of the Connacht Rugby team.

img_0606-1

The newly refurbished Life Style store is broken down into four zones, of which the Women’s Studio was what I was most interested in; there is an extensive range of fashionable and functional sportswear and runners.


img_0609
Trainer Central has all the latest trainers for men, women and kids. Trainers, runners, sneakers, whatever you like to call them are very fashionable for every day wear at the moment and there was a great choice on display weather you want them for running and training or just casual wear, I think I need another pair of Nike Theas.


The Run Club has just about everything you could need for any distance and they can also analyse your gait to make sure you get the proper running shoes.


The Boot Room upstairs is “what it says on the tin” and more. It has an astro turf caged testing zone to test out the boots before you buy them. It also has loads of football, GAA and Rugby jerseys.

A few Connacht players with a lucky competition winner!

I thoroughly enjoyed the event, browsing through all the new clothes and runners, while spotting the talent local sporting heroes. There was a Q & A with some of the Connacht Rugby players, a D.J. and loads of yummy food and beverages. There was loads more but this post is probably too long already. I was very restrained and only bought one pair of leggings to add to my collection but I have my eye on a few more items. Anything take your fancy there?

Leave a comment